Professional Development and Recognition Programme

Marking Days for 2024

  • March 6
  • June 19
  • September 18
  • November 20

Documents required for joining Te Whatu Ora Lakes PDRP

PDRP Procedure Primary and Community Nurses

This outlines the process and requirements for community nurses to access Te Whatu Ora Lakes PDRP programme.

Memorandum of Understanding

A signed memorandum of understanding is required before nurses from community organisations can participate in Te Whatu Ora Lakes PDRP.

Flow chart for assessment

Outlines the process to complete, submit and maintain a PDRP portfolio.

Submission Documentation

Log in to Ko Awatea to find the specific documentation requirements.

If you do not have access to Ko Awatea please contact pdu.admin@lakesdhb.govt.nz

What is PDRP?

The PDRP is a clinically focused competency based program adapted to the New Zealand context.

PDRP has been defined as a:

“Competence based programme that assesses nursing practice against competencies, recognises level of practice and supports ongoing professional development” (National Nursing Organisations 2004 p24).

Te Whatu Ora Lakes is an organisation accredited by Nursing Council New Zealand (NCNZ) to meet the competency assessment component of the HPCA Act 2003.

Te Whatu Ora Lakes PDRP is also part of the Regional PDRP process.

This collective (Northland, Lakes, Bay of Plenty, Tairawhiti, Waikato and Taranaki) works together to review, develop, moderate and ensure consistency for PDRP across the region.

Principles of PDRP 

  • To ensure nursing expertise is visible, valued and understood.
  • Are open (all nurses able to participate)
  • Are owned by the profession
  • Have Te Tiriti o Waitangi as a foundation
  • To recognise and reward clinical development and excellence
  • To continuously improve and develop standards of nursing care by encouraging clinical enquiry, reflective practice and peer review.
  • To align practice and professional development to the competency requirements of APC as specified by the NCNZ
  • To provide a framework for professional growth and development
  • Maintain a consistent, fair and transparent process
  • Te Whatu Ora Lakes recognises the PDRP as one means of demonstrating clinical governance to Te Whatu Ora Lakes. 


How does PDRP relate to the requirements for maintaining an APC?

Nurses are accountable for ensuring their practice is consistent with their education and their assessed competence that meets legislative requirements (NCNZ 2011).

The Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act (HPCA 2003) was developed to protect the health and safety of the public and increase the accountability of health practitioners.

Under this act NCNZ is required to ensure the on-going competence of nurses.

To ensure this occurs every time a nurse applies for an annual practicing certificate the nurse is asked to declare whether they have met the Continuing Competency Framework requirements.

It is the nurse's professional responsibility to meet these requirements. For example, practice hours over 450 in previous three years/self and peer assessment against Nursing Council Competencies.

Every year NCNZ selects 5% of practicing nurses to complete a recertification audit of the Continuing Competency Framework requirements.

In accomplishing and maintaining involvement on PDRP the nurse is exempt from Nursing Council Recertification Audit as the portfolio covers the requirements of the Continuing Competency Framework.

PDRP requirements are usually different from the requirements of the recertification audit.

This is because these programs usually look at more than simply competence to practice.

They may seek to support individual nurses to develop their practice and also to recognise additional contributions made by the nurse to the workplace.

The assessment tools used by PDRPs may also be different, as the nurse usually supplies more evidence in a portfolio than is required for audit.

The criteria for advancement through PDRP is determined by the organisation and not by the Nursing Council.

Nursing Council approval means that the programme has met the nursing council standards for PDRP’s and the Council is satisfied that nurses assessed by the programme meet the Councils continuing competence requirements (as well as other organisational requirements.

The PDRP framework is based on Benner’s model [1] which recognises the development of nurse’s practice and progress from beginner (New Graduates only), competent, proficient through to expert practice.

New graduates are expected to submit a Competent Portfolio at the completion of the New Entry to Practice Programme (NETP).

Are there entitlements on PDRP?

All nurses involved in PDRP must maintain a level of competent or above.

Allowances are dependent on your employment and or collective contract.

PDRP monetary allowances are paid according to the Te Whatu Ora  / New Zealand Nurses Organisation multi employer collective agreement (MECA)



[1] Benner. P ( 1984) From Novice to Expert. Excellence and Power in Clinical Nursing Practice. Prentice Hall. Inc. New Jersey

Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act (2003) Ministry of Health, New Zealand. www.health.govt.nz

Nursing Council of New Zealand (NCNZ)