Who we are

A snapshot of who we are and what we do.

Lakes District Health Board serves a population of just over 100,000 and covers 9,570 square kilometres.

It stretches from Mourea, north of Rotorua, to Mangakino in the west down to Tūrangi in the south and across to Kaingaroa village in the east.

The major centres of population are Rotorua and Taupō and the main smaller communities are Mangakino and Turangi.

The principal iwi (Māori tribal groups) in the Lakes  DHB district are Te Arawa and Ngāti Tūwharetoa. A significant number of Māori living here affiliate to iwi outside the district.

There are two territorial local authorities within Lakes DHB boundaries – Rotorua Lakes and Taupō.

The board and executive offices of Lakes DHB are located in Rotorua on the Rotorua Hospital campus.

What we do

Lakes DHB is responsible for the provision (or funding the provision) of the majority of health services in the Lakes district.

These services in our district include:

  • Two hospital sites (Rotorua and Taupō)
  • Nine continuing care facilities – in addition we have one Hospital Specialist Services – Psychogeriatric Unit
  • One mental health inpatient facility
  • Four community bases for mental health (iCAMHS (Infant, Child and Adolescent): Adult community at Rotorua and Taupō; and Mental Health Service for Older People Rotorua
  • 14 aged related residential care facilities (rest homes)
  • 18 pharmacies (11 Rotorua, 6 Taupō, 1 Tūrangi)
  • 21 GP practices (5 Taupō/Tūrangi/Mangakino and 16 Rotorua)
  • 12 Māori providers, one of which also looks after Pacific interests
  • Two primary health organisations